Quick Answer: What Are The Differences Between The Two Houses Of Congress?

What are the two parts houses of Congress?

The legislative branch of the U.S.

government is called Congress.

Congress has two parts, the Senate and the House of Representatives.

Congress meets in the U.S.

Capitol building in Washington, DC.

to the President..

Why is the United States Congress divided into two houses?

To balance the interests of both the small and large states, the Framers of the Constitution divided the power of Congress between the two houses. Every state has an equal voice in the Senate, while representation in the House of Representatives is based on the size of each state’s population.

What are the names of the two houses of Congress quizlet?

Name the two houses of Congress. House of reps and Senate.

What are the main differences in the legislative process between the two houses of Congress quizlet?

What are the main differences in the legislative process between the two houses of Congress? Bill is Drafted: Members of Congress write up bills. 2. Introduced in House: Representative introduces the bill in the House.

Why is the Senate more powerful than the House of Representatives?

Under the Constitution, the House of Representatives has the power to impeach a government official, in effect serving as prosecutor. The Senate has the sole power to conduct impeachment trials, essentially serving as jury and judge.

Why is it called Upper House and Lower House?

“Why is the Senate called the upper house and the House of Representatives called the lower house?” Thanks for your question. … The reference to upper and lower house is a tradition the Australian Parliament borrowed from the British or ‘Westminster’ Parliament.

What two houses make up Congress quizlet?

The House of Representatives and the Senate make up Congress.

What is the difference between the Senate and the House of Representatives quizlet?

How does the Senate differ from the House? The senate’s members are chosen from an entire state, House members are chosen from local districts. Senate members have a 6 year term, House members have a two year term. Senate members originally elected by state legislatures, House members originally elected by voters.

Is the House or Senate more formal?

The Manual provides a highly detailed structure for parliamentary procedure, which makes the House more formal and organized in its deliberations than the Senate.

Which house is known as the lower chamber?

House of RepresentativesCongress is made up of two houses, just the way most of the state legislatures are made up. The upper house is called the Senate, and the lower house is called the House of Representatives.

What are the specific steps in the federal and state impeachment process quizlet?

Terms in this set (10) Judiciary committee votes on whether to authorize a formal impeachment inquiry. Judiciary committee investigates whether to offer articles of impeachment to the House of Representatives. If approved the articles of impeachment go to the Senate for trial. Impeachment vote in the Senate.

What is the difference between the Senate and the House of Representatives?

Members of the House of Representatives serve two-year terms and are considered for reelection every even year. Senators however, serve six-year terms and elections to the Senate are staggered over even years so that only about 1/3 of the Senate is up for reelection during any election.

What are two differences between the House and the Senate?

Notice that members of the House are elected every two years, whereas senators are elected for six-year terms. … Senators are at least thirty years old and citizens for nine years. Another difference is who they represent. Senators represent their entire states, but members of the House represent individual districts.

How is US Congress elected?

Both senators and representatives are chosen through direct election, though vacancies in the Senate may be filled by a governor’s appointment. … The members of the House of Representatives are elected for the two-year term of a congress representing the people of a single constituency, known as a district.

Why is the Senate called a continuous body?

The Senate is a continuous body, meaning that all of its seats are never up for election at the same time.